10 things I miss from Albania

It’s been a little over a month since we returned to Finland from our Albanian adventure. We moved there right after our wedding and the application for my husband’s residence permit (the process is done, by the way, but they wouldn’t share their decision with us over the phone and all we can do is wait).  We returned to Finland after three months because of various difficult circumstances, although we had planned to stay longer. Despite the shortness of the time, I did become more closely familiar with my husband’s country and learned to appreciate many things there.

Unlike in Albania, the weather outside is frightful in my home country at -21 °C (around -6 °F).  Although we have nowhere to be and drinking tea in my pajamas listening to Billie Holiday isn’t too terrible, after a while, the great indoors gets a little bit boring.  The pleasant weather is definitely one of the things we both miss from Albania.  Below, there’s other things I look back to with warm, fuzzy feelings.

  1. Our Albanian family.  I got super lucky, when I married into a Southern family: I’ve been showered with love, attention, kisses, hugs and gifts from day one.  These people, including my mother-in-law (who resides in Greece), my husband’s aunts, sisters and other relatives, show us so much unconditional love, it warms my heart every day.
  2. The general kindness and hospitality of people.  I like how eager people are to help, even when it’s not really their job to provide me with what I need.  I also love it how they randomly strike up a conversation with strangers with no discomfort whatsoever, perhaps because they are very community-minded.  Albania also isn’t a huge tourist attraction yet, so, people are generally very happy to welcome foreigners.
  3. The cheap food and drinks, both at restaurants and supermarkets.  Going for coffee with one euro in your pocket is unimaginable in Finland.  Albanian products are the cheapest in stores, import products more costly, but the general price level is inexpensive.  We also enjoyed the cheap, fresh bread to the fullest (which shows on my waist).
  4. The beach, about 600 feet from where we were staying.  And the majestic sunsets.
  5. Super cheap mani-pedis, hair dressers, beauty treatments… Such a luxury!!  You can easily get your hair dyed and cut for the bargain price of (drumroll) 20 €.
  6. Animals everywhere!  Of course some of the stray animals are in bad shape, which is hard to look at.  However, many have been sort of adopted by business owners who keep feeding them and and a kitten throwing itself down at your feet at the electronics store is not unusual at all.  I also liked feeding cats and dogs leftover food at restaurant terraces.
  7. The market places where you can find anything from used quality shoes to yummy giant olives and fresh cut flowers.
  8. The amazing fruit.  We were over the moon for the juicy pomegranates and tasty oranges.  Even better: everything is bio.  No bs chemicals added.
  9. Insanely cheap sneakers.  Kind of a random observation but let’s just say new Nikes for the price of two movie tickets had me smiling for a very. long. time.
  10. The frankness of people.  I like not having to apologize for every damn thing, getting to accept a favor or a gift with a simple ’thank you’ and being able to say what I mean.  In Finland, I feel like I have to be indirect about everything, which is sometimes very draining.  If you need something, ask, don’t beat around the bush.  After my experience of the South, I know how to stand up for myself a little more.

 

Jätä kommentti