Approaching Shu shu shu shu shu shu Sugar Town.

I’ve been (mostly) abstaining from sugar since early January.  After an out-of-control streak with cakes, chocolates and other Christmas goodies over the holidays, I made the fatal mistake of signing up my husband for the job of sugar police.  I knew he would be good at it since he, unlike emotional wrecks like myself, is mostly rational and can control himself (what’s that like, right??).  Therefore, I thought he could also spare some common sense for me on my moments of weakness.

The first week flew by with no trouble whatsoever.  I actually noticed my mood swings were noticeably absent and rejoiced over being in control over my emotions -a victory for any woman.  After that it has been tough.  I do not wake up in cold sweats but let’s just say sugar is on my mind for the better half of, well, almost every day.  I crave e-code-filled unnaturally colored candy, warm cinnamon buns and juicy donuts.

What has come out of this trial then?  Well, for one, I realize how crazy it is to be so hooked on sugar.  How is it even possible that it takes over my mind like this?

Secondly, and as a possible explanation to the formerly mentioned, I’ve noticed how many things actually contain sugar, from chicken marinades and seasoning sauces to drinks and breakfast cereals, you name it.  Moreover, the sugar content is insane!!  No wonder we are so addicted, my sweet-toothed friends.

As for my plan from now on, after a heated conversation with my better half, I will definitely work on cutting down my sugar intake by lots.  I do enjoy not being tired all the time and not having to wonder what’s going on with my mind (well, at least I can rule out one thing).  I will stop stealing my husband’s candy after finishing mine.  I will try to read labels better and look for more natural alternatives.

But first, I will have a donut with caramel topping and cream-filling.

Jätä kommentti